Dying Light’s New Nightmare Mode Sounds Brutal and Amazing [Video]


Dying Light’s upcoming DLC, The Following and the Enhanced Edition improvements are sounding better and better with each bit of news we hear about it. The latest is the addition of a new Nightmare Mode which ramps up the current Hard Mode. This new level of difficulty will add several enhancements and limiters. Easter Egg weapons will no longer be available for use and XP penalties will be introduced for dying as well as featuring tougher enemies. On the plus side, you’ll also be able to gain XP faster and be able to find more gold tier weapons. Sounds like loads of fun. For more information, check out the new teaser trailer below.

Warning: Video contains adult subject matter – mainly blood, guts, zombies, zombie slaying, and other zombie related stuff. You’ll probably want to keep young kids from playing this, unless they really, really love zombies.

Press Release

January 26th, 2016 – Wroclaw, Poland/ Today Techland published another episode of its ‘Highlights’ video series, in which the developer details the multiple improvements and additional content being added to the upcoming Dying Light: The Following – Enhanced Edition. The new video focuses on the Nightmare Mode, a new difficulty level that restricts overpowered Easter Egg weapons, introduces XP penalties for dying, ramps up the difficulty of enemies, and more.

“We’ve designed the Nightmare Mode for those seeking a really challenging and immersive experience. Nightmare Mode takes everything that was brutal in our Hard Mode and twists it even more” – says producer Tymon Smektała. “We’re trying to bring the Dying Light experience closer and closer to the feeling of a real apocalypse survival experience where every move you make can really determine if you live or die. We’ve added one bit of salvation though. Playing Nightmare Mode in co-op will earn you XP faster and increase your chance of finding gold tier weapons.”

‘Survive the Nightmare | Dying Light: The Following – Enhanced Edition Highlight #3’ can be viewed here.

Nightmare Mode will be a part of Dying Light: The Following – Enhanced Edition, which launches February 9, 2016 for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One (available boxed and digital). Players who already have the base version of the game will be able to buy the expansion Dying Light: The Following individually as downloadable content. All the buying options are detailed on the official website.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.